The dangerous side of walking

Posted: October 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

So today I get on the buss and there’s a young man with tattoos and a neck brace. A stop later another young man with tattoos gets on. He proceeds to talk about how he just had his neck brace removed due to being hit by a car while on his skateboard. I ask him his name he says Christian and proceeds to tell me about his accident. It turns out he was hit by a van whose driver was on the phone. This makes me realize how disconnected I have been while driving my car. We are so wrapped up in our tiny bubbles here in LA that we don’t interact with each other. I know many times that I have almost ran into someone as a result of not watching where I was going. It isn’t healthy the way we are all disconnected in these times. What happened to the sense of community and togetherness that used to prevail? Is it dead due to the Internet being our only connection with each other?

20121022-140642.jpg

Leave a Reply

